Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

I have a confession to make. It’s a confession that I probably shouldn’t be making so early on in my blog, but there’s no point in beating about the bush.

I’m rubbish at baking.

Now some of my friends may beg to differ, but they haven’t seen some of the casualties over the years. The truth is I have to follow a recipe word for word to ensure something comes out vaguely ok, and when I find something I can make well, I stick to it.

There have been some disasters of epic proportions along the way – most recently an upside pineapple cake which came out flat as a pancake and completely burnt on top. Needless to say it went straight in the bin, much to my chagrin and the disappointment of my guests waiting to be served pudding.

There are times when life calls on you to bake however, and in my case it’s always, without exception, for my friends and family. I spent the weekend with my granny and she loves nothing more than a good cake. At the age of 87 it’s the simple things in life that she takes pleasure from, so it was a good excuse for me to man up and face my fears.

The result was this very easy but delicious, lemon drizzle cake.

Thank you Primrose Bakery for getting me through this one.

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Ingredients
– 155g self-raising flour, sifted
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 155g golden caster sugar
– 20g cornflour
– 155g unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus more for greasing the tin
– 3 large eggs
– Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon

For the drizzle
– 160g granulated sugar
– Juice of 2 lemons

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Method
Preheat the oven to 180°C/fan 160°C/ gas mark 4. Grease 1 x 900g/2lb loaf tin and line with baking paper or a loaf tin liner.

Sift the flour, baking powder, sugar and cornflour into the bowl of a food processor. Pulse the mixture for about 4 seconds until evenly mixed. Add the butter, eggs and lemon zest and juice and process briefly until evenly blended (about 10 seconds).

Lemon Drizzle ingredients

Pour the mixture into the loaf tin and level the top with a spatula. The Primrose recipe says to bake in the centre of the oven for about 35-40 minutes, until golden brown, but I found that it needed an additional 20 minutes. I’ve seen the same feedback on another blog, so the best thing to do is just keep an eye it as I have a very temperamental oven and I’m reluctant to make any assumptions about the cooking time. When it’s ready the top of the cake won’t wobble and a skewer inserted into the centre of the loaf will come out clean. Let the loaf cool in its tin.

Make the drizzle by stirring the sugar into the lemon juice in a jug and mixing well. Prick the surface of the loaf and allow it to set, before removing the loaf from the tin and serving. Keep any uneaten load in an airtight container at room temperature for 3-4 days.

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

2 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

